Who to turn to for assistance

The Network Staff are responsible for the maintenance and well-being of the Network and its users. Many staff members have multiple roles, and not all roles are listed here. These are the people you should seek for assistance.

Staff are assigned to their roles during annual staff-wide elections from the 8th to the 11th of every October. Between elections, staff may be promoted, demoted, added, or removed by the Network Operations Committee, as outlined in the Network’s Constitution, which also outlines the rules for the elections. OFTC’s constitution is enforced by resolution 2002-07-02.iwj.5 of Software in the Public Interest’s Board of Directors.

When connected to our IRC network, staff are identifiable by their hostmasks: <staffmember>.<role>.oftc.net. Users may also request a cloaked hostmask,for information see UserCloaks.

If you would like to join our staff or sponsor a server, please refer to our Application and send it via mail. All applications submitted and not withdrawn prior to consideration are made public with sensitive information removed.


Please address all general inquiries, requests, and comments to support: support@oftc.net.

Network Operations Committee Chair

The Network Operations Committee Chair is responsible for chairing Network Operations Committee meetings and other communications, calling elections, and assigning or reassigning responsibilities to other members of the Committee.

  • Chair - Christoph Berg (Myon) <chair -at- oftc.net>


The Ombudsman is the judicial system of the Network and is responsible for hearing and acting upon complaints brought against any member of the staff or against the network itself.

  • Ombudsman - Robert A. Nowak (rnowak) <ombudsman -at- oftc.net>

Network Operations Committee

The Network Operations Committee is the legislative body at the heart of the Network’s administration and is responsible for making all decisions related to the operation of the network, including approving of new staff members or of servers.

  • Doug Freed (dwfreed)
  • Joerg Jaspert (Ganneff)
  • Jimmy Kaplowitz (Hydroxide)
  • Neil McGovern (Maulkin)
  • Christoph Berg (Myon)
  • Robert A. Nowak (rnowak)
  • Seth Arnold (sarnold)
  • Tom Wesley (tomaw)
  • Martin Zobel-Helas (zobel)

Department Heads

The Chair reserves the right to assign and if necessary reassign departments to members of the NOC to run different aspects of the network and its associated services. These departments may contain staff from among all members of the Network’s staff.

Network Operators

Network Operators are responsible for the enforcement of policies set out by the Network Operations Committee and are responsible for responding to or forwarding requests for assistance from any user of the Network.

A copy of the guidelines for this role, as they would be received by someone voted to this position, can be found here.

  • Bernd Zeimetz (bzed)
  • Rich McIntosh (mcintosh)
  • Michael Greb (mikegrb)
  • Mark Walling (mwalling)
  • Scott Bender (scott)
  • Alexander Wirt (formorer)
  • Uli Martens (youam)

Network Representatives

Network Representatives are responsible for helping users in any way they can, and requesting assistance from NetOps or NOC members where they can not.

A copy of the guidelines for this role, as they would be received by someone voted to this position, can be found here.

  • Andre Guibert de Bruet (andy)
  • Anthony Velardi (avelardi)
  • Rhosyn Celyn (cwningen)
  • Jonathan Frederickson (jfred)
  • Matt London (Matt)
  • Matt Traudt (pastly)
  • Rico Gloeckner (mc)
  • Richard Hartmann (RichiH)
  • Richard Rose (rik)
  • Tobias Wolter (towo)
  • Unit 193 (Unit193)
  • Sean Glover (wladek)
  • Jan Prunk (yang)


Being an Advisor is an honorary and not an administrative position.

A copy of the guidelines for this role, as they would be received by someone voted to this position, can be found here.

  • David Graham (cdlu)
  • Timothy J. Fontaine (tjfontaine)

Server Sponsors

Server Sponsors are an integral part of the functioning of any network. Sponsors provide the network with the use of servers on which the Network may run irc daemons, or in some situations, other services.

A copy of the guidelines for this role, as they would be received by someone voted to this position, can be found here.

Please note that we cannot guarantee that any specific server will be accessible at any specific time. Always use irc.oftc.net to connect, or irc6.oftc.net if you are using ipv6. This will take you to an active server.

  • Andre Guibert de Bruet (andy) (oxygen - Ann Arbor, MI, US)
  • Mendel Mobach (BugBlue) (galapagos - The Netherlands)
  • Joerg Jaspert (Ganneff) (reticulum - Berlin, DE)
  • Anton Lundin (glance) (solenoid - Umeå, Sweden)
  • Josip Rodin (Joy), CARNet (kilo - Zagreb, HR)
  • Luca Filipozzi (luca) (graviton - Vancouver, BC, CA)
  • Mattias Wadenstein (maswan) (solenoid - Umeå, Sweden)
  • Rico Gloeckner (mc) (venus - Nuremberg, DE)
  • Michael Römer (miro) (unununium - Karlsruhe, Baden Württemberg, DE) ?
  • Rob Bradford (robster) (charon - London, United Kingdom)
  • (xenon - CA, US)
  • Eric Evans (urandom) (osmotic - Grapevine, TX, USA)
  • Doug Winter (winjer) (kinetic - Brighton, UK)
  • Martin-Zobel Helas (zobel) (magnet - Darmstadt, DE)
  • AS6453 (reflection - Montréal, Quebec, CA)
  • mythic beasts (charon - London, UK)
  • Linode, Christopher S. Aker (caker) (strange, weber, resistance - Fremont, CA, US)
  • OSUOSL (larich - Corvalis, OR, US)